How I Became Known as a Nutjob

Mind.Speak.Revolution.

My African family and old friends have spent years worrying about me, praying to God to release whatever hold made me suddenly passionate about black revolutionary thought.  Asking among themselves whether and how to send me to a mental hospital, asking me if I was “okay.”

 

I was 21 years old when my boyfriend gave me the book Thomas Sankara Speaks. In my one year after finishing college, I had done enough Internet digging to come to the conclusion that Africa’s problem was the brain drain. I’m not sure if I yet knew about the blood diamond trade, but I was founding a website called Mama Afrique to sell African food to Africans all over the country. By then I was questioning everything, and looking for a solution that would allow me to go home to a country that was no longer a death sentence. That would make…

View original post 426 more words

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

